The Story of Us #5

My mother told me which vices to avoid
Drinking too much
And smoking stuff
And drugs in all forms and size
But never the one with that crooked smile.

My father warned me to be careful outside
When crossing the street
And walking in the dark
And chasing cars
But he never warned me about you.

Every day, the world wages war
And fights demons
Within and without
And it bleeds a tender heart
But nothing scars like unrequited love.

One thought on “The Story of Us #5

Leave a Reply

