Alive

People look at me and see the cuts on my wrists
And the look of disbelief on their faces–
brows furrowed and mouths agape–tell me
They cannot understand how I can laugh like this
And eat ice cream while smiling
With the warm sunshine on my face, highlighting
My used-to-be wounds and the quite-literal battle scars

But see
They have it backwards

I can eat ice cream while smiling
With the warm sunshine on my face, highlighting
My used-to-be wounds and the quite-literal battle scars
Because I survived the cuts on my wrists

Today
I’m alive

And sometimes, that is more than enough reason to celebrate

Leave a Reply

