Jupiter

It takes only 10 hours for a day in Jupiter to be over
And when I tell friends I got through the day
Without thinking about calling you
They won’t know which planet I’m referring to

The broken pieces of my heart outnumber the stars
And on some nights, just like stars
They, too, are invisible
Even when people look for them

But I’d like to believe that just like stars
They are still worth stringing together
Worth making sense out of the random placement
Of the scattered pieces of me in the universe

I’m sorry, I’ve gotten used to this
Looking to the cosmos to talk about my brokenness
I just cannot think of anything sadder or more beautiful
Than a universe neglected but that continues to exist

One thought on “Jupiter

Leave a Reply

