Light Years

I don’t believe in people’s idea of Heaven
Of infinite stretches of clouds
and blinding white light
Of us turning into wisps of smoke

But I believe in black holes
Of its massive presence
And ability to suck everything in
I’d much rather think that you are in it
Transported in another universe

Still human enough to remain as matter than spirit
still heavy enough to weigh our hearts down and own it
Still magic enough to not be gone completely

And I still hear you in other people’s laughter
Sometimes in my own darkness, I look for you
But I find you in the kindness of strangers
And I find you in places you’ve never been to

So maybe, if you are in another universe
And in the future, if I’m really lucky
That’s also where you’ll find me

Leave a Reply

