Obliviate

I know time existed before you
I know red is a color
My Saturdays are spent
just at home cleaning
That Sunday means
Grocery shopping

I know how to cross the street
How many sugars I take with my tea
What time I usually need
To start making dinner

I’m aware how many times
I’ve had a haircut in the past year
Each scratch on my phone
And where it came from

I know these.
The things that don’t require remembering
Things that are automatic
Questions that don’t need time before answering

But somehow
When someone mentions your name
I stop in my tracks, heart thumping

I don’t know what you are
Or what we’re doing
How long we’ll keep this going

I never know when to call
Or when to give you time alone
Or how to talk to you
If we’re settling on a label

I don’t know these.
The things that shouldn’t require remembering
Things that are automatic
Questions that shouldn’t need time before answering

Leave a Reply

