Ghost story

Ghost story

Everyone has a go-to ghost story that they share around bonfires, when Halloween nears, sometimes just when the opportunity arises. They know this is effective. Could get the reaction that they wanted. Everybody is sharing one now.

When they look at me to signal that it’s my turn to tell my ghost story, I look at you instead. I say I don’t have any. I smile timidly. And in my head I count the thousands of times you’ve haunted me over and over, always in between wakefulness and slumber, just past the point of real contact. But never really touching.

Everyone has a go-to ghost story that they share. And we all have that one ghost whose story we can’t ever tell.

Leave a Reply

